Steam Deck Backlog Tactics

So I got a Steam Deck almost a year ago and, like anyone with a Steam account will tell you, you rack up a large backlog rapidly. Game after game, sale after sale. I went from having probably 40ish? 260, now. How am I going to tackle this?

Two things: #1, there are always new games coming out at any given moment and sales around every corner. Its a real problem. So with a backlog that is ever growing, I have a lot to get through. #2, this creates what I call “choice paralysis”, that is to say, when I look at the list of games I haven’t finished yet, I get lost in what to pick next. With over 200 games to pick from across various different genres, years, and companies, how do I keep myself from just playing the same type of thing over and over again?

THE ABC’s MOTHERFUCKER!

At any given time I am going to have 28 games installed on my machine (more on the extra two in a second), one representing each letter of the alphabet. This way, I know I have to pick a game from the letter of “A”, which instantly limits my choices to a subdivision, and makes it that the first game in the list is one of those games. Then the same with “B” and “C” all the way to “Z” (assuming I have a game for each letter, anyhow).

I am also including numbers and symbols in there, as I have a few games that start with those and don’t want them left out. And then the 28th game is some kind of sim or relaxation game to play when I need downtime. I will always have a game like that (currently Car Mechanic Simulator 2021) just to play inbetween games or when I need a break from one.

Through this practice I intend to make my way through, one game and one letter at a time. I’m already getting close to wrapping up my game for “D”, now, and will move on to “E”. This will keep me from getting stuck between titles and also encourage me to play more types of games.

I will try to do small write ups about each game as I finish them so as to have way to remember them. I will have four to do pretty quick, here…

(Also of note, I will not be replacing the completed games from the list with the next one, that way if I acquire anything interesting in the meantime, they have a fair shot at getting added to the list as time goes on.)

Anyhow, for now… here is the list for Round 1:

A- Archvale
B- Bioshock Remasterd
C- Chrono Trigger
D- Demon Turn: Queen’s Edition
E- Entropy: Zero
F- Farcry 3: Blood Dragon
G- Gish
H- Hogwarts Legacy
I- In Between
J- Jasspunk: Director’s Cut
K- Kingdom Rush
L- A Little to the Left
M- Milk Outside a Bag of Milk Outside a Bag of Milk…
N- Nickelodeon All Star Brawl
O- Othercide
P- Portal 2
Q- Quake 2
R- Resident Evil 0
S- Sorry, We’re Open
T- The Talos Principle
U- Undertale (baby!)
V- Velocibox
W- Warharmmer 40K Inquisitor: Martyr
X- XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Y- Yes, Your Grace
Z- Zamboni Simulator
#- 50 Years

Happy playing!

Author: skyler bartels

just when you thought it was safe to be skyler bartels....2

Leave a comment