Facebook – Top 50 FAVORITE Animated Programs of All Time: 1

Here it is, at long last. The finale. The last entry on the list. Its been another wild ride getting to the #1 spot. Will you be surprised? Let down? Pleased? Only time will tell. Well, time and your comments. So, without further ado:

1: Looney Tunes (1930-current, technically/Syndicated Theatrical Shorts)

wp-1475164433004.png

When I initially started compiling a total number of programs for this list, The Simpsons was placed in the #1 slot before I even came up with other shows. It seemed obvious, really. But as time went on and more and more shows got added to the list, even before I’d put them in even a tentative order, one thing remained true: each and every show reminded me, in some capacity, of a Bugs Bunny or Daffy Duck short. And as I wrote entries and found photos and read comments on every single one of the past 49 notes, I was reminded of this show.

Now, to call it a “show” is obviously a misnomer; Loony Tunes is made up and comprised of various other series’ of shorts, such as Merrie Melodies (a jab at the then-running Disney series, Silly Symphonies). The half-hour block of programming many of us saw as kids was really just a conglomeration of theatrical shorts that debuted before films at the movies that eventually ran as – and in turn spawned – syndicated debuts of new shorts as the years went on. It eventually spawned a few different shows; The Bugs Bunny Show, The Bugs Bunny/Roadrunner Hour, etc. But the shorts circulated, created new content, and introduced new alter egos for the vast cast of characters in wildly different situations.

wp-1475164438132.jpg

And maybe that’s why, at the end of the day, I feel obligated to both love this stuff and give it the number one slot: it covers so much ground. Every joke, every gag, every possible device for comedy was tackled in this show. So many programs featured on this list owe their very existence to this one program/series of shorts. It parodies it all, its characters have characters, and the lack of continuity only adds to the fact that anything can happen at any time. The sight gags, the quick wit of its signature characters, and – hell – even the music is enough to make it the most damn influential cartoon of all time. And, to add to this, everyone has seen at least one short and has a favorite, if they think about it.

The violence of the show, the blatant racism and laughs at the expense of touchy subjects (suicide, anyone? WWII, anyone?), the lack of lessons to teach kids… it all makes the show what it is: comedy for the sake of comedy. In recent rereleases of the content on DVD they’ve had Whoopie Goldberg do an intro apologizing, to a degree, for the re-instated racist commentary and drug-related jokes (although the old rumor about Speedy no longer being present is false, apparently, having been slipped back into syndication in 2002!), stating that to ignore it is just as bad as allowing it in the first place. I feel this is an awful way to look at it, personally, seeing the comedy as a product of its time, back when parents didn’t freak out at the first sign of, well, anything. Bugs Bunny in blackface might not be the most politically correct thing to ever grace this planet, but damn if it wasn’t and isn’t still funny.

So, you can rant and rave, badmouth and insult me for this decision. But search your heart and you’ll know that this is easily the best animated program of all time, even if its just a collection of shorts. The characters will last forever, the jokes will always remain funny (even if they won’t always remain necessarily relevant), and the show’s ridiculously fitting theme are here to stay. With shitty movies and spin-off programs (weren’t they all just super heroes not that long ago…?) keeping the characters fresh, and with new kids constantly having these guys and these shorts thrown at them, we’ll be seeing Bugs, Daffy, Porky, and the gang forever. And that’s a good thing.

wp-1475164435518.jpg

Favorite Episode:
“Duck Amuck” is often times referred to as the single best episode of any cartoon in history. And rather than tell you why, I’ll just let you experience it yourself:

Favorite Character:
Porky Pig WITH Daffy Duck. The “with” is important, because anytime you have goofy-as-sin Daffy paired with straight-man Porky? You get victory. Every time.

There it is. Am I wrong? No, I’m not. But feel free to tell me why you think I am, below.


Added September 29, 2016
I stand by this decision. Other shows on this list might have rearranged over the years, but no show is better, all-around, than this. And, yes, I re-watched “Duck Amuck” again and it is still the single greatest animated entertainment in history. Beyond a doubt.

Author: skyler bartels

just when you thought it was safe to be skyler bartels....2

46 thoughts on “Facebook – Top 50 FAVORITE Animated Programs of All Time: 1”

  1. Rory Jobst
    This is definitely superior animation, but, is I don’t consider it a televsion show so much as a showcase for theatrical released shorts. They came with many different labels on tv (“The Bugs Bunny and Tweetie Show” “Merry Melodies,” etc. Excellent animation? Yes. But it belongs on another list. This makes SIMPSONS really your number one, as it was always built for the medium of television.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Like

  2. Skyler Bartels
    I’d never consider this if they’d only ever been theatre shorts turned into half-hour blocks. But in 1990 they began to debut new content on TV. While not as great as some of the other shows out at the time, it did allow the old content to blend in with the new content, thus bringing the mix to a new generation with the new segments included. I grant this exception because of this fact.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Like

  3. Chelsea Kelly
    PERFECT CHOICE!

    A little sad I wasn’t tagged in this as I’m an avid Looney Tunes fan!

    There will never again be a cartoon like this. Love that we agree on the best episode, too! I was actually telling Shane a few weekends ago when Duck Amuck was on about how it’ll always be my favorite since it has consistently made me laugh until tears came.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Like

  4. Rory Jobst
    Notable omissions:
    LIQUID TELEVISION (MTV) (Great showcase for edgier, Gen X animation)
    BEAVIS AND BUTTHEAD (MTV) (I’m guessing just a matter of taste here, since you had DARIA on the list)
    ROCKY AND BULLWINKLE (This one is shocking. No argument can convince me that watching DAVID THE GNOME is preferable)
    GUMBY- (Guessing also just a matter of taste. It was made for tv though)
    THE REAL GHOSTBUSTERS- Actually elevated elements of the film if you ask me. Lorenzo Music is a very capable Vakman.)
    FAMILY DOG as part of Amazing Stories
    GARFIELD AND FRIENDS- Much closer to the shorter, more cynical brand of humor of the strip. The specials always got to saccharine and sentimental. I still giggle thinking about this one.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Like

  5. Skyler Bartels
    Rory: Aeon Flux was a part of Liquid Television, and was featured on the list
    I didn’t get into B&B until it was too late; didn’t watch it growing up and didn’t really care for it until the past few years
    Gumby? Man. It didn’t even cross my mind.
    Ghostbusters and Rocy/Bullwinkle are all great and fine, but just not my taste.

    What is Family Dog?

    As for Garfield and Friends… I have nothing to say about it other than “AND PIES OF ALL SIZES!”
    June 16, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Like

  6. Skyler Bartels
    And Aaron: Just because something moves through culture like wildfire doesn’t mean its great. It just means it catches on quickly. Jersey Shore, for example, gets HUGE ratings for MTV – reportedly the best ratings for any show it has ever aired – but I don’t think you would seriously say its “good”
    June 16, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    Like

  7. Aaron W. Jaco
    It is absurd to even remotely suggest that the cultural influence of Jersey Shore is akin to the cultural influence of The Simpsons, either quantitatively or qualitatively. I think you know that. Plus, minute by minute, The Simpsons is funnier and more endearing, as well as more culturally relevant, than Looney Tunes. That’s my opinion on it.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Like

  8. Rory Jobst
    Understood. Great list man. The theatrical Daffy Duck was brilliant and crazy whereas tv Daffy was just rude and envious of Bugs. Duck Amuck is amazing though. I am inspired to make a long list of my own. I’m thinking top 50 Simpsons episodes.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Like

  9. Rory Jobst
    Also, I understand this oversight, but do you remember an MTV show called THE HEAD? I really loved that one. About this guy with a big head and his alien friend. There was a character that looked like Beavis’ father.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Like

  10. Pete Bartels
    It’s hard for me to say which is a better program… I kinda consider looney tunes as high art. I mean they kinda perfected animation humor. And I admit it is kind of a stretch to put them on the list, but I agree that it is admissible since I watched them as a packaged tv program growing up. I would say that looney tunes is more culturally relevant than the Simpsons. Sooooo many tweety bird and taz tatoos!
    June 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Like

  11. Aaron W. Jaco
    I know that Looney Tunes often tackled the topic of World War II, but wasn’t it little more than a propaganda tool? Correct me if I’m wrong about that, but all I remember is flag-waving cartoons about Bugs Bunny harassing Nazis and (in the case of your cartoon above) singing about war bonds. I don’t get impressed by propaganda, and I don’t consider it an admirable form of cultural relevancy. As for perfecting animation humor, prefer the brand of humor in The Simpsons — situation comedy — over the slapstick humor of Looney Tunes.
    June 16, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Like

  12. Zak Bartels
    Yeah, what else could it be other than Duck Amok? Well, there’s always What’s Opera, Doc. And the Rabbit of Seville. Or whatever that ones name is that parodies the Barber of Seville.

    Also, excellent choice of the team up of Daffy and Porky. The fucking one where Daffy is a doctor and kidnaps Porky to be his patient!!!
    June 16, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Like

  13. Pete Bartels
    I would say cultural relevancy is more measured in terms of how pervasive the show itself is referenced. In these terms, i don’t know what is more quoted both in terms of humorous jokes and literally. What’s up doc?
    June 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Like

  14. Skyler Bartels
    In all seriousness, though, Aaron makes the valid point, which is why its listed as FAVORITE shows and not the BEST: its all about taste. My taste was on display here for 50 entries, not a judgment about the overall best of the best.
    June 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Like

  15. John Flowers
    I was kinda surprised I hadn’t seen Looney Toons yet. But again, its just your personal list, it does come down to taste. I’m still surprised I didn’t see Duckman
    June 16, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    Like

  16. Kyle Decker
    The absence of Clone High from this list can only be excused by never having seen it. Which, considering how short lived it was, is extremely likely. A few episodes are on youtube. I recommend it. Unless you did see it and hated it. Then I don’t.
    June 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Like

  17. Kyle Decker
    You would dig it. A really great slam on teen-dramas. But with teenage versions of historical figures. The dialogue is such that just about every single line is quotable. Plus it’s just quirky as hell.
    June 16, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Like

  18. Jason Sauer
    Interesting and unexpected choice. I would probably agree strongly if I were ever forced to make a list of my own. Speaking of that, enjoyed reading these a bunch!
    June 17, 2011 at 12:33 am

    Like

Leave a comment