Facebook – 26 Albums

So, I started this challenge to test if I actually could love all forms of music. For the most part, I had help from one source: The LOST boards on IMDB. Everything else came from people I know (and one random guy from Best Place Ever).

I asked for an artist to represent every letter of the alphabet and I got quite a list!

So, below is this list that contains albums and artists I’ve never really heard before (aside from a couple, but I never gave them the time of day, before). I will find, purchase, and listen to these albums in order as I go (not with any great quickness, mind you. Just, will get them as time goes on) and I will listen to and review these albums.

I would have asked friends, first, but I wanted a very random list from people I never knew. So, sorry Austin (hahahaha!).

Anyhow,

The Complete List:
A- The All American Rejects/When the World Comes Down (ThisPlaceIsMysterious)
B- Black Kids/Partie Traumatic (thefragile75)
C- Cake/Prolonging the Magic (firehead2788)
D- Decemberists, The/Hazards of Love (jewellrunner)
E- Explosion in the Sky/The Earth is Not A Cold Dead Place (Hes_Our_Eagle)
F- Fugazi/13 Songs (thefragile75)
G- Gorillaz/Demon Days (Flame_Wielder)
H- Imogen Heap/Speak For Yourself (maidmarcia)
I- Incubus/Morning View (LostinDeadwood_Deuce)
J- Judas Priest/Painkiller (Geronimo_Jackson_Five)
K- The Kooks/Inside In/Inside Out (ThisPlaceIsMysterious)
L- LOST Prophets/Start Something (My friend Paul)
M- Mastadon/Crack the Skye (sub_atomic81)
N- Nirvana/In Utero (nirvana_1993)
O- Oceansize/Everyone Into Position (Hes_Our_Robot)
P- Paul Pena/New Train (Frank_J_Lapidus)
Q- Qui/Baby Kisses (some random guy in an indie film rental store)
R- Radiohead/OK Computer (mrmos)
S- Soul Coughing/El Oso (whatevergrowledgrowled)
T- Trainspotting Soundtrack (AquarianGuy2)
U- Uriah Heep/Return to Fantasy (my father)
V- Velvet Underground/White Light/White Heat (my friend Aaron)
W- Whiskeytown/Strangers Almanac (Finn_Ninja)
X- X/Under The Big Black Sun (thefragile75)
Y- Thom Yorke/The Eraser (gagging-order)
Z- ZZ Top/Degüello (Iznogoud9)

I will provide a link to the site where reviews can be read (comical in nature, I assure you) and we will find out, together, if I can actually tolerate any and all music.

I offer this same challenge to you fine folks, as well. See what you can stomach, if you want! It should be fun!


Added September 20, 2016
I got to W, so I just got that, X, and Z today (I’d acquired the Yorke album somewhere in there). So, while I never got a review site up for this list, I have now completed obtaining all the music. Can’t wait to see how crappy W and X are (Z will be great).
Also of note, this list was a fun ride because it turned me into lifelong fans of bands I’d never heard before or didn’t own any music from: Decemberists, for example, I’d never heard and I didn’t own any Gorillaz music.
I did a second side to this list, where I purchased an album just randomly for each letter. That got me started on Garbage, for example.
All in all, a fantastic exercise and it really opened up my view of music as a whole.

Author: skyler bartels

just when you thought it was safe to be skyler bartels....2

2 thoughts on “Facebook – 26 Albums”

Leave a comment